The festival

Intensive for the third time

20 select productions will be shown in Theaterhaus, including the full-length world premieres Outwitting the Devil by Akram Khan and Watch by Bryan Arias, both as COLOURS co-productions. Also included are several short new creations for Gauthier Dance in the Meet the Talents format, four European premieres and seven German premieres.

The Dance Company Theaterhaus Stuttgart as host will open the festival with the premiere of Classy Classics, a bill featuring contemporary masterpieces by William Forsythe, Marco Goecke and Ohad Naharin, complemented by two favourite pieces from the Gauthier dance repertoire. COLOURS will once again have a strong presence in Stuttgart's city centre – with dance events on the market square plus other locations as well as at Friedrichsbau Varieté. What's more, with the COLOURS Playground, the festival will set up a veritable open-air studio for the people of Stuttgart on the central Stuttgart square, the Schlossplatz. Last but not least, after the huge success in 2017, the children from the region will once again dance with the animals at the COLOURS Family Day in Stuttgart's zoological and botanical gardens, Wilhelma.

Significant for the third time

The art of appropriation: Contemporary dance has always tried out, adapted and developed a great variety of styles and movement languages. The COLOURS organisers set their sights on identifying relevant positions in this huge scene and presenting them in Stuttgart. The line-up for 2019 once again combines exciting aesthetics, virtuoso technique and strong choreographic statements.

On the 2019 COLOURS palette, international highlights at Theaterhaus Stuttgart include: West-Eastern myth hunters (Akram Khan Company), a triple bill by the women master choreographers Crystal Pite, Sharon Eyal and Emily Molnar (Ballet BC), the dance avant-gardist Marie Chouinard and her company, Hip-Hop dancers teaming up with a baroque orchestra (Mourad Merzouki), an existentialist dance drama paying tribute to Samuel Beckett (Compagnie Maguy Marin), acrobatic art moving between Winterreise and Le Sacre du Printemps (Circa), a smart fusion of Modern and Street Dance from New York (A.I.M by Kyle Abraham), a powerful duet for dancer and accordion (Tero Saarinen & Kimmo Pohjonen), the metaphysical dancescapes of Roberto Castello/ALDES, a sensitive exploration of today's ways of life (ARIAS Company), the story of an obliteration and a fabulous dance show for kids (both Compagnie Philippe Saire), Pantsula Dance in gumboots from South Africa (Gregory Maqoma/Via Katlehong), a social analysis in the form of dance by the movement researcher Lucy Guerin, a Buster Keaton scenario in a mercilessly shrinking room (Pierre Rigal/Compagnie dernière minute), a radical, multidisciplinary celebration of the colour black (Shamel Pitts), a minimalist, intimate study on attraction and rejection (Stephen Shropshire), and the future of contemporary dance from China (XieXin Dance Theatre).

All over the city for the third time

As always, the countdown to COLOURS will be duly marked. For Stuttgart is meant to be in dancing mood before the curtain goes up on June 27 for the premiere of Classy Classics. In addition to the well-known and popular formats COLOURS in the City and Eric Gauthier's XXL Workshop, the COLOURS Playground will, for the first time, heighten anticipation. And even after the official opening in Theaterhaus, there will be more large-scale events in the city – most of them with free admission! After all, COLOURS sees itself not only as a festival for theatregoers, but as a festival for the whole city.

Artistic Director, idea & concept COLOURS: Eric Gauthier
Artistic Director Programme COLOURS: Meinrad Huber
Direction & Management Theaterhaus Stuttgart: Werner Schretzmeier, Willi Friedmann

Funded by

Premium Partners

Partner

Supporters

Das Festival

Zum dritten Mal intensiv

Im Theaterhaus zu sehen sind 20 ausgesuchte Produktionen, darunter die abendfüllenden Uraufführungen Outwitting the Devil von Akram Khan und Watch von Bryan Arias, beide als COLOURS-Koproduktionen. Mit dabei sind ferner mehrere kurze Neukreationen für Gauthier Dance im Meet the Talents-Format, vier Europa-Premieren und sieben deutsche Erstaufführungen.

Die Theaterhaus-Company als Gastgeberin eröffnet das Festival mit der Premiere von Classy Classics, einem Tanzabend aus zeitgenössischen Meisterwerken von William Forsythe, Marco Goecke und Ohad Naharin, ergänzt durch zwei Lieblingsstücke aus dem Gauthier Dance-Repertoire. In der Stuttgarter Innenstadt wird COLOURS einmal mehr große Präsenz entfalten – unter anderem mit Tanz-Events auf dem Marktplatz, vor dem Königsbau, im Friedrichsbau Varieté sowie auf dem Schlossplatz. Dort wird das Festival mit dem COLOURS Playground ein veritables Open-Air-Studio für die Stuttgarter einrichten. Last but not least, werden nach dem überwältigenden Erfolg im Jahr 2017 die Kinder aus der Region beim COLOURS Family Day im zoologisch-botanischen Garten von Stuttgart, der Wilhelma, erneut mit den Tieren tanzen.

Zum dritten Mal substantiell

Die Kunst der Aneignung: Der zeitgenössische Tanz hat von jeher die unterschiedlichsten Stile und Bewegungssprachen ausprobiert, adaptiert und weiterentwickelt. COLOURS hat sich das Ziel gesetzt, in dieser enorm großen Szene relevante Positionen aufzuspüren und in Stuttgart zu präsentieren. Das Line-up 2019 vereint einmal mehr aufregende Ästhetik, virtuose Technik und starke choreographische Statements.

Im Theaterhaus Stuttgart leuchten auf der COLOURS-Palette 2019: die west-östlichen Mythenwanderer der Akram Khan Company, ein Triple der Meisterchoreographinnen Crystal Pite, Sharon Eyal und Emily Molnar (Ballet BC), die Tanzavantgardistin Marie Chouinard mit ihrer Company, eine HipHop-Show mit Barockorchester (Mourad Merzouki), ein existentialistisches Tanz-Drama auf den Spuren von Samuel Beckett (Compagnie Maguy Marin), akrobatische Kunst zwischen Winterreise und Le Sacre du Printemps (Circa), smarte Modern und Street Dance-Fusionen aus New York (A.I.M by Kyle Abraham), ein kraftvolles Tanz-Akkordeon-Duett (Tero Saarinen & Kimmo Pohjonen), hypnotisches Seelentheater (Roberto Castello/ALDES), die sensible Erkundung unserer heutigen Lebenswelten (ARIAS Company), die Geschichte einer Auslöschung und eine fantastische Tanzshow für Kinder (beides Compagnie Philippe Saire), die Pantsula-Tänzer mit den Gumboots aus Südafrika (Gregory Maqoma/Via Katlehong), die getanzten Gesellschaftsanalysen der Bewegungsforscherin Lucy Guerin, ein Buster Keaton-Szenario in einem sich erbarmungslos verengenden Raum (Pierre Rigal/Compagnie dernière minute), die radikale, multidisziplinäre Feier der Farbe Schwarz (Shamel Pitts), eine minimalistische, intime Studie über Anziehung und Abstoßung (Stephen Shropshire) und die Zukunft des zeitgenössischen Tanzes aus China (XieXin Dance Theatre).

Zum dritten Mal cityweit

Wie immer wird der Countdown zu COLOURS gebührend zelebriert. Denn Stuttgart soll bereits im Tanzfieber sein, bevor am 27. Juni der Vorhang zur Premiere von Classy Classics hochgeht. Neben den bekannten und beliebten Formaten COLOURS in the City und Eric Gauthiers XXL-Workshop wird erstmals der COLOURS Playground die Vorfreude aufs Festival mit anheizen. Und auch nach der offiziellen Eröffnung im Theaterhaus geht es weiter mit groß angelegten Aktionen in der City – die meisten davon übrigens bei freiem Eintritt! Schließlich begreift sich COLOURS nicht nur als Festival für Theaterbesucher, sondern als Festival für die ganze Stadt.

Künstlerische Leitung, Idee & Konzept COLOURS: Eric Gauthier
Künstlerische Leitung Programm COLOURS: Meinrad Huber
Geschäftsführung Theaterhaus Stuttgart: Werner Schretzmeier, Willi Friedmann

Funded by

Premium Partners

Partner

Supporters